Younts_Autosport

The Scourge is getting a turbo/needs help

Hi, everyone. I don't know how many folks are still active on the forum, I myself have been absent for some time but I'm hoping to become more active again and have now changed my screen name to be more in sync with other social media accounts. I wanted to update everyone on the biggest news to come from my Mustang builds in a long time! My old V6 is going to be boosted.

I managed to find one of the old TMA Turbo kits, unused and complete, on a local Craigslist. I'm apparently a lucky bastard, given the rarity of a never-installed TMA kit nowadays. Garrett GT4088, 65mm I believe, TiAL wastegate, HKS blow-off valve, JDM intercooler, all hot and cold piping, basically a complete kit minus fuel mods and gauge.

I'm a noob to the turbocharged world so I'll be looking for some help and advice with this project. Right now I'm trying to source all the extra stuff and get a plan together. Looking for recommendations on fuel mods, boost level, boost controller if necessary, and any advice or instructions to help with the install, etc.

My motor is stock minus an underdrive pulley and now has ~140,000 miles on it. As always I'm planning to stay on top of maintenance. When it's time, the tuning will be spot-on.

Hope some of you are reading this and have some good info for me. Hope to catch up with everybody soon. Thanks!

rps20170417_113402.jpg

rps20170417_113326.jpg

Edited by Younts_Autosport

Just for longevity, at 140k, if I wanted a motor to continue to hold and be reliable, I'd go through and give it a freshover if it's feasible. Bearings/rings/lifters/springs. I've never herad of the kit before but it looks like a solid little set up!

On 4/18/2017 at 6:30 AM, 95riosnake said:

I'm pretty inexperienced in the turbo game, but that is going to be pretty sweet when it's finished!

On 4/18/2017 at 9:01 AM, Prokiller said:

same for me, but that's a pretty nice setup

On 4/19/2017 at 8:27 AM, Yeahloh95 said: