Younts_Autosport

Am I experiencing belt slip/making boost

Hey everyone. Thanks for sticking with me as I post a number of threads all intended to get my new Saleen ready for Mustang Week. This is the first supercharged car I've driven so I'm still fairly new to the world of boost and I'm trying my best to learn all the intricacies.

I am trying to figure out if I'm actually having any belt slip. As has been established previously, the car came to me with a smaller pulley (~2.6", stock is 3") and had never been tuned, ran lean on the dyno as a result. I don't know how to detect if the belt is slipping other than by looking at the boost gauge. My stock Saleen gauge works, although I don't know if that means it's accurate. I'm trying not to run 100% wide open throttle since the car needs tuning, but I don't know if that is necessary to actually see appropriate boost. In 1st I don't read any boost on my gauge, 2nd I don't really see anything either, 3rd I have read ~5 psi before but sometimes it appears as if it's stuck at about 3 psi (slip?), and in 4th I can usually see about 6 psi, maybe 7.

I'm a little more conservative in 1st gear but otherwise I've opened it up to near WOT, and I may have even hit WOT at some point in 3rd or 4th, I'm not sure yet. In 2nd I start to hear the supercharger but can't see any boost, don't know if that's normal. My lack of a ton of seat time in this car and my inexperience with boosted cars has me wondering on this. I originally planned to purchase the MoSaleen idler pulley but from what I gather that's mainly going to benefit me if the belt is slipping. I haven't seen any obvious signs of wear on my radiator hose, either.

What does any of this sound like to you, the experts? Your help is always appreciated!