Stable Master

DIY C.O.P. Conversion - No, not the one with red/blue lights & sirens!

Alright guys, I'm making this thread because when I went to do my C.O.P. conversion I couldn't find a proper write up online for myself, though I own a mustang based shop, even I myself will stumble across something I've never done before, it's nothing to be ashamed of as we are all human at the end of the day.

Searching through the internet all I could find on this type of thing was the red/green wire is power, rest is negative, go figure it out!

So, damn it I did !

Anyway enough of small talk, let's get to business!

Here are the key things you're going to need:

A Mustang - preferably one with a v8 - 16 valve or 32 valve

Coil over plugs - these can be found cheap - there's many options, pm me and I can help you out

Wiring & connectors - Also, many options. You can either build your own harness or use an existing one out of a lincoln, 99+ cobra/gt, whatever works best for you.

Beer

Extra wire - This can come in handy in case you cut the harness you're gonna use shorter than you should have

A good solder

Solder flux

Some more beer

A friend to loan you a hug in case you get frustrated - Bromance.

So if you've met the first part of the criteria, then this is essentially what's hiding under your hood - Nasty. Don't just throw it away, this thing's important for the time being!

9138312304_820891189e_b.jpg

What needs to be understood about this whole system that Ford has setup for is very simple, the middle wire (Red w/ green stripe) that plugs into each coilpack is simply a power wire. It does nothing else. It comes on when you flip the key open.

9138409412_f7e3d4a513_b.jpg

Now that we know what those wires do, we can put wire does up to the positive side of each coil pack and that leaves us with two negative signal wires on each side.