Ferocious

Buying A Used Transmission For Dummies

I'm looking to buy a used manual transmission in the upcoming months. However, I am a noob and don't really know what to look for to make sure it's a good transmission.

Obviously no grinding, shaft play, etc..

What else should I look for in regards to signs of wear and damage?

if you can open it up, check the edges of the teeth for wear or anything out of the norm. Go through the gears with the shifter. if you can have someone spin the shafts while you run through the gears that should be smooth too. What kinda trans are you looking for?

I've got one with 35k kms your fairly close to me ... 65 year old guy owned it since new

I wonder if you're willing to help a brother out lol :apologetic: The ones in my area are going for $250-300. Shipping will probably still be alot cause of weight no?

About 20K miles sounds really nice though. I can only dream.

Edited by Ferocious

Yea no doubt shipping would be a bit pricey . I haven't got my pardon yet to go to the states but it's in the works ... So thus summer I'll be coming to see a lot of y'all

I've been going through this runaround lately because I need a new trans too.

- For a t-5.  They are cheap to rebuild and easy to open up and take a look at.  If its lower mileage and you trust the guy and the price is right there you go.

-For a t-45.  The t-45 is notorious for bent forks, problems shifting at high RPM and getting stuck in reverse.  I honestly would not buy one you cannot drive in the car before its pulled.  

-For a 3650.  THESE have a ford TSB out on them for problems with the 1-2 fork, syncrhos and they have plastic pads on the forks.  I would not buy one of these either without first test driving it in a running car and then having it pulled.