Slykin

Suede Interior

Hey guys, I've being driven crazy by all of the interior rattles/creaks in my car. With my stiff suspension it's pretty dang noticeable. I was wondering if anyone has thought of or seen a mustang already done with suede wrapped interior pieces such as the A-Pillar, the rear quarter panels, and maybe the console trim panel? I figured this may help reduce some of the noise while also looking better than the cheap plastic. I don't think it should be too hard to wrap that stuff, but i've never done interior work before, and i'm sure someone has a better idea of the difficulty than me.

suede is prolly about as elastic as tweed (which i've done alot of, lol) and the panels your talking about would be pretty simple but when it comes to needing to stretch and tuck. i would think it would get pretty tough. gotta make strange cuts and folds. but i def think it would quieten down some noise from friction.

i actually thought about doing that too with black suede. not for noise but for awesomeness :)

how is suede supposed to stop the rattles/noises? It is preventing the panel from rattling or preventing the sound from getting in? I would recomend some sound dampers before you do all that. Personally I used second skin on my car as well as some dynamat, luxury liner and spray deadoners but I am building a loud stereo and also wanted to dampen some of the exhaust sound from the side exhaust as well. You don't have to go as far as I did to get good results, a package of the regular damplifier would work wonders.

You can see my sound damping down the page here.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2395420/1994-ford-mustang-gt-coupe-2d/page-10/

i plan on doing my A pillars but the rear panels look like they would be too hard for me to do. I'm guessing wrapping the parts in suede would quiet it down because it would keep the plastic parts from hitting each other.