busta

Peep this build - anything I'm missing?

Hey y'all,

I'm looking at building my top end with budget effective parts. I know that I can probably pull a bit more power with a different top end combo but I'm looking for an easy enough bolt-on combo that I will be able to live with just the occasional street driving. The only thing I can think of not in the cart are pushrods because i'm unsure what length I'll need. Any input is GREATLY appreciated - this is my first time actually tearing into a motor short of installing a Kenne Bell which was pretty easy (and only involved removing the upper intake plenum lol).

I was thinking of the Ford Racing GT40X heads and the E-303 cam with all the accompanying gaskets and bolts. I'll likely be doing longtube headers at the same time. I believe I'll need a set of 1.6 RR's as well as different length pushrods. Is there anything else I should be replacing when doing the swap? I plan to use stock injectors, mass air and fuel pump. I'm hoping this combo with eventually having tmoss port my intake may get me to the 300rwhp range.

My other option is throwing another grand at it and buy the Trickflow top-end kit from CJ Pony Parts.

buy an adjustable pushrod tool, something like this, and then you will know the perfect length rods to order.  http://www.summitracing.com/parts/tfs-9001/overview/

i have yet to really do much with a 302, but would a new timing chain set be worth while?  what about the lifters?  

buy an adjustable pushrod tool, something like this, and then you will know the perfect length rods to order.  http://www.summitracing.com/parts/tfs-9001/overview/

i have yet to really do much with a 302, but would a new timing chain set be worth while?  what about the lifters?